Masked Fun

I had a cheap black and white mask that was lying around my to alter pile for a long time and I finally decided to do something with it. I painted it with a layer of white gesso to prime it. I added some texture with a stencil and texture paste. I then got lots of chipboard shapes, stars, cogs, flourishes, circles etc and used gel medium to adhere them all on. Once these were all dry I did another layer of gesso. I then used acrylic silks to paint it bronze. When this was dry I used rub on gold leaf to highlight the raised portions. I added some ribbon and gold thread at the sides and called it done!

It was quite hard to photograph because of all the shine on the mask but you get the idea below….

pic 1 pic 2 pic 3 pic 4

Leave a Reply

