Bee Tender!

Its time for a new challenge over at Mixed Media Place! The theme this month is Tenderness.

This is probably the most personal journal page I have shared to date. I suffer from a constant pain condition and sometimes I need to be a bit easier on myself for not being able to do certain things the way I used to – so have to be more tender with myself. This page was a reminder that strength is not a physical thing but a mind set. As long as I can get up every day, get myself to work and keep on going I will be ok!

I had lots of fun creating this background. I covered the pages with a generous coating of gesso and pressed a honeycomb embossing folder into it while wet to get the texture. I then used water colours to get my colours on the background and the drips. I highlighted the edges of the page and some areas with a brushing of copper ink for some shimmer.

bee 1You can see the texture quite well in this shot and the variety in colour too. The bees were from a mini stamp I have. I stamped them on water colour paper, painted them and fussy cut them out – but only the bodies and wings, not the legs etc. I stamped the bee on the page to get the legs and antenna and then stuck the bodies on over the stamped image.bee 3You can see some of the copper shimmer here. I stamped the sentiment with a Lawn Fawn alphabet set.bee 2

 

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you liked my page!

2 thoughts on “Bee Tender!

  1. Gorgeous! Love the warm colors and the quote! Thank you for participating in the Mixed Media Place’s challenge!

Leave a Reply

