Mixed Media Tag Tutorial

Edit: Tutorial also now available at the bottom of this post.

I have a little tutorial up over on the Crafting Ireland Blog today showing step by step how I created this mixed media tag. Head on over to check it out!

tag complete

I am entering this in the Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday challenge where you have to use something new – the stencils and the stamps I used on this were new. I am also entering it into the Mixed Media Place challenge Courage/Bravery. The quote on my piece reflects courage to me, all shall be done, it will be hard but if you have the strength and courage you will get there eventually.


I know a lot of people love this style but feel that they won’t be able to do it. I wanted to show you how easy it is to put together a mixed media piece. Apologies in advance for all the photos, but I wanted to make sure to illustrate every stage!

What you will need:

  • Paint or inks
  • Tag cut from card stock or heavy water colour paper
  • Oil pastels/crayons/paint etc – I used water soluble oil pastels but you could use any colouring meduim
  • Paint brush
  • Glimmer mists or sprays
  • Pallet knife or old credit card
  • Stencils
  • Book paper (you can also use magazines)
  • Embellishments
  • Glue – gel medium is great
  • Texture paste/embossing paste
  • Craft sheet – this will get messy
  • Gloves if you don’t like your hands getting messy!
  • Anything else on your craft desk you think you may like to throw on your tag!

Step 1

I used my oil pastels to scribble colour in different shades on my tag base. I then blended this with water and heat set it in order to sink the oil into the paper. You could paint, ink etc at this stage. I like the oils as once they are heat set they don’t move, smear or bleed colour again.

pic 1pic 2pic 3pic 4

Step 2

Rip up some book or magazine paper. Using gel medium glue the scraps down randomly. Seal over the top of them too with the gel medium.pic 5

Step 3

Dilute some acrylic paint – I used white. Use a paint brush to paint this onto the top of the tag and hold the tag upright over your craft sheet to let the paint bleed downwards.pic 6

Step 4

I used a mask and placed it on the tag and spritzed over it using Glimmer Mist. You could use more than one mask at this stage if you liked.pic 7

Step 5

On a plastic surface I put down some white texture paste. I then added a few drops of turquoise ink from a Dylusions bottle to tint the paste. I then used this paste on my stencil. Its a bubbles stencil from Studio Calico.

pic 8pic 9

I also use a little hexagon stencil I made myself using some stencil plastic and a die. I stenciled through this stencil using some of the tinted paste and some of the natural white paste too.pic 10

Step 6

I used a pallet knife to smear some of the paste on the bottom right corner of the tag, leaving it very textured looking. I also added some on the middle left of the tag.pic 11

Step 7

Into these sections of texture paste I pressed in some chipboard shapes – cogs and stars. As the paste dries it keeps the shapes stuck in it as if glued in.pic 12

Step 8

I had planned on keeping the shapes natural chipboard but decided to paint them using Distress Ink in Antiqued Bronze.pic 13

Step 9

I used some watered down Antiqued Bronze distress stain to add some bronze drips down the tag also.pic 14

Step 10

Now came the embellishing stage! I stapled on a strip of washi tape and layered on some tickets, stamps and a chipboard shape with printed text added to it. Everything was aged with distress inks or the bronze distress ink.pic 15

I also randomly stamped some hexes onto the tag to mimic the hex stenciling.pic 16

Here you can see a close up of the embellishments all added on….

close up 2

And the completed tag….tag completeI hope you enjoyed seeing this process and that you will give it a go – just relax and have fun with it!!

Happy Crafting!

6 thoughts on “Mixed Media Tag Tutorial

  1. WOW. Love the color and texture on this and the words are beautiful.
    Thank you for playing with us at MixedMediaPlace
    Linda

  2. Pingback: Maker Mondays: Meet Nicole Mullen of Mullen Crafts | Guidecentral Blog

Leave a Reply

