Altered Tin

I recently took part in a swap and created an altered tin for it. I took an old silver Maya Road tin that used to contain chipboard pieces. I used a mixture of alcohol inks to colour it to give it a nice warm and aged look. I did inside the tin and outside. I wrapped the handle in bakers twine and added a chipboard sentiment also.

tin 1

Once this was all done I created a scene inside the tin. I added a large Christmas tree on the back of the tin with some glitter on the ornaments on it. I added in some little bottle brush trees. I used my finger to swipe glossy accents on these and then rolled them in glitter for some subtle sparkle.

I coloured the chipboard lamp post and added gold stickles for the lights. I then added glossy accents over this to look like a glass dome over the lights. I used some white felt and tissue paper for the snowy ground. Glossy accents helped my keep the tissue paper looking like a softly heaped snow bank. This also had some glitter added to it! Everything inside is glued down with glossy accents, except for the tea light. I used a removable glue dot to keep that in place so that it could be taken out and turned on and off!

When all this was done I added in the tea light. I wanted to make the tin act like a little Christmas decoration. All the sparkle inside is lit up beautifully by the tea light.

tin 3

 

You don’t see the tea light much when the tin front is all closed up so it works well. For the back of the tin I added a lovely sentiment that really sums up Christmas to me. I added glossy accents on the ornaments on this to give them that dimensional look.

tin 2

 

I hope my swap partner likes her gift. I certainly loved my gift from her!

I am entering this in the Mixed Media Place challenge which was to use glossy or crackle accents.

3 thoughts on “Altered Tin

Leave a Reply

