The 12th of December already?!

I can’t believe how fast this month is going by, wow! Over at Crafting Ireland we are wrapping up our 12 Days of Christmas event today. I decorated this advent frame for my house. You can see the full tutorial over at the Crafting Ireland blog but I thought I would share the project here also….

finished 1

finished 2

I hope all your Christmas preparations are going well!


 

What you will need:

  • Advent frame (I used a kaiser crafts one with a shadow box inset)
  • Wood stain (you can also use paint)
  • Papers and embellishments
  • Items to make your central scene – I used items from Ebay and Pound shops
  • Adhesive and ink

Step 1

I used a light oak wood stain to stain my frame and the drawers. I gave it two coats to get a lovely deep colour. You could pain the frame or use Distress Stains if you like instead. Let this dry fully before moving on.

step 1step 2

Step 2

While the frame is drying paint or ink up your advent numbers. I used wooden ones but you could die cut them from paper/card/felt too. What ever you prefer!step 3

Step 3

When your frame is fully dry choose a paper for the back of the inside frame. I used some BoBunny paper from a few years ago that I had been hoarding. Cut it down to fit and adhere with a strong glue. Apologies about the grubby sheet of cardboard – I use it to protect my floors when painting etc. And how cute a photo bomb is that? I swear rabbits are worse than cats for curiosity!

step 5

Step 4

You can now start building your scene inside. I used some mini light bulb charms and strung them on some red twine. I used thumb tacks to stick this to my box to look like a string of festive lights.

step 6step 7

Step 5

For the rest of my scene I used some mini bottle brush trees, mini presents and some more of the light bulbs. I used a light up tree from a Pound shop and hid the switch in behind the fence and presents. I used glue dots to adhere all the trees, presents and light bulbs. I used zip dry glue to glue the fence on.

step 8step 9step 10

Step 6

I used a 1″ circle punch to punch out 24 circles from patterned paper. I also cut out 24 strips of paper at 4.7cm x 2cm to act as decorative strips for on the front of the drawers. I inked all of these and the circles with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

step 11step 12

Step 7

Embellish the front of the drawers. You can embellish as much as you like at this stage but I chose to keep it quite simple.step 13

Step 8

Fill the drawers with little goodies and enjoy!!

finished 1

finished 2

 

Leave a Reply

