Patchwork tag….

I find a lot of times I end up with scraps from various paper pads/digi kits that need using up. They are usually too small to do something with like die cut. But too big to just throw out. In this case I had a lot of scraps from a few of Sarah Hurleys digital kits. So I decided to make a fun tag matching up papers that didn’t necessarily co-ordinate in patterns etc but the colours tied them all in together. I did a quick mini tutorial on this just to show you how simple it is!

Step 1

Die cut (or hand cut or take out of a packet!) two tags. One will be a base layer so I used cream card for this one as you will only see it from the back.

step 1

Step 2

Cut your scraps into neat edged squares/rectangles. Lay them out on the cream card until you see you have enough to mostly cover it.

step 2

Step 3

Ink up all the edges of the scraps to define the edges then glue them down to the cream tag. I used glossy accents to glue.step 3

Step 4

On the kraft tag I die cut some hexagon shapes out of it. I used different sized dies and let some hang off the edge. I then stamped over the kraft with a crackle background stamp from Sarah Hurley. I really love this stamp and use it a lot!! It just adds some nice interest to the top layer of the tag.step 4

Step 5

Glue the kraft layer onto the patchwork layer. Again I used glossy accents. Make sure to be careful to get all the edges glued down firmly, especially the parts where the hexagons are cut from at the edge.
step 6

Step 6

Add some ribbon to the top. I added a little ticket from one of the kits and stamped a simple hello greeting onto it. I stapled it onto the tag for a fun effect.
step 5This is a very simple technique that you could do with any shape die or even punches. I find any way I can use up my scraps makes me very happy!finished tag

I hope you have a go and have fun!

5 thoughts on “Patchwork tag….

Leave a Reply

