Steampunk fun….

I recently received a fabulous package of amazing goodies from a Hungarian store called Scrap Kreatura. You can find their English version web shop online here – http://www.scrap-kreatura.hu/english/shop/ They have amazing chipboard pieces at even more amazing prices!

One of the pieces I got was a fantastic dress form piece. I decided to go all steampunk with it and used some aluminium tape I had recently picked up to make a faux metal background on a tag.  I swiped on some black ink and wiped it off again to give a dirty aged effect. I then painted the chipboard dress form gold. When this was dry I mixed some black acrylic paint with some pearl acrylic paint and created a pewter colour. I smeared this over the dress form to grunge it up and bit then wiped most of it off to get the effect I wanted. I then added some elements from the Retro Cafe Art Scraps digital collage sheet. These were distressed on the edges and inked up too. A bit of damask washi tape and feathers in behind the dress form finished it off for me.

You can see a close up on the dress form below. It was adhered with a double layer of foam squares to make it really pop out from the tag….

 

I had great fun making this project. There is noting better than getting to play around with techniques, paints and inks and get your steampunk on! 😀

3 thoughts on “Steampunk fun….

  1. Pingback: Tattered Floral Challenge…. | Home

Leave a Reply

