Paris Collage

I posted up a few days ago about this gorgeous free digital collage sheet from Retro Cafe Art. I had created a digital collage to enter the competition with it. Well I loved the sheet so much that I just had to do another collage. This time I went with a real life collage. I couldn’t resist playing with some of the new goodies I had recently gotten from Retro Cafe Art.

I used the Paris collage sheet, a butterfly paper cut (you can see it up on the top right corner), the Paris skyline small stencil, and the Sunrays stencil.  I layered all the elements onto a thin canvas using multimedium. The canvas was originally 20×20 but I had my hubby cut it down to 20×10 for me as I like the idea of that shape more.  The edges of the canvas and all the papers were inked with walnut stain distress ink. I also used Picket Fence distress stain on some of the images to tone them down a bit.  I then stenciled on the sunrays using wild honey distress ink and a bit of frayed burlap distress ink to darken it up a bit. I also sprayed the sun rays with lemon grass glimmer mist for a bit more colour and shine. I simply left the stencil in place when spraying so that the rest of the canvas would be protected.

When all of this was dry I applied the Paris skyline. To do this I used texture paste that I smooshed through the stencil and smoothed out. When this was dry I inked over it with Walnut stain distress ink.

I am quite happy with how it turned out overall, and most importantly I made a awesome mess and had great fun making it!! 😀

4 thoughts on “Paris Collage

  1. This is gorgeous Nicole! Love the sun rays & the butterfly….actually I love it all! I have never done a collage but this is encouraging me to try one!
    Hugs,
    Renee

Leave a Reply

