Altered Canvas Fun?!

I picked up a mini canvas on sale a few weeks ago and decided I wanted to play with it. I coloured it with alcohol inks and then stamped a motorcycle stamp all over it. I then used embossing powder (WOW Embossing powder – blueberry) to distress up the edges. I then painted a small slip of wood and embossed the edges of that also (WOW Embossing powder – pepper). I stamped and embossed the sentiment (WOW Embossing powder – black). I stamped another message on the bottom right corner too. To add a bit more impact to the sentiment I die cut two cogs and embossed a flourish pattern on them (WOW Embossing powder – paprika).

In my head I pictured this working out totally differently, but that’s art for you isn’t it! I wanted it to be a mini inspirational canvas for a guy I know who loves motorbikes. I am not sure I really like how it has worked out but I will live with it for a while and see. I can always paint over it!

Close up of the side

I am entering this into the WOW Embossing Powder challenge which is for masculine projects. I also used lots of their earth tone embossing powders on my project.

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Altered Canvas Fun?!

  1. Great use of colour and texture. I wonder if the paprika is a bit distracting? Nice contrast, but causes the cogs to be lost. Love the canvas though. Thanks for entering over at WOW! Embossing Powder challenge this month.

    Neil

  2. Great canvas Nicole and it’s certainly masculine. Fabulous use of colours. Funny how what we envision in our head is rarely what we end up with once the creativity starts to flow. Great work!

  3. Wonderfull! You also did not leaf the edges blank! That´s fantastic! A really stunning project! Thank you for joining us at WOW! Embossing Powders! xx Bianca

Leave a Reply

