Crowning glory….

This week at Simon Says Stamp and Show we have to show and Old Wives Tale! Lots came to mind but I went with ‘your hair is your crowning glory’. When I looked into this further I found that according to the old wives the crowning glory is one of the most indestructible parts of the body. As such, a sudden loss of hair is unlucky, forecasting a decline in health, loss of property or failure in business, or the death of a closely related child. Red hair is associated with fiery-tempered people (e.g. Cleopatra and Queen Elizabeth I); black and dark brown hair indicate strength; fair hair implies timidity. On a man, if the hair grows low on the forehead and back above the temples he will have a long life; if a woman’s hair grows in a low point on her forehead (‘widow’s peak’) she will outlive her husband. If a woman suddenly develops curls on her forehead her man has not long to live.
Phew, I am glad I have a good head of brown, non forehead curling hair!
To illustrate crowning glory I used this stunning image from the Graphics Fairy of an actress called Maude Fealy – what a stunner she is and has fantastic hair too!!

I tore up some corrugated card, inked it up with a pearl paint dabber and then a aqua pearl paint. I added a splodge of holographic hearts, some crackle paint and a small crown printed from the Graphics Fairy and coated with glossy accents. I added the text to the image on my computer. I also found a crown charm and cut off the ring to use it as a crown on Maude. I also distressed over the photo a bit with my old paper distress ink. I added some twine to hang it by and now I have a little old wives tale to hang on the wall of my craft room!

9 thoughts on “Crowning glory….

  1. This is beautiful. I love the vintage photograph you chose and the colors with it are wonderful. (I am a sucker for teals). I like the fact that you used a piece of corrugated cardboard as your base. Very neat. Beautiful layering of technique. Thanks for sharing this little masterpiece with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. ❤ Candy

  2. That is pretty cool Nicole. Thanks for the ‘hairy education’.
    Love the new blog background, it looks great!

  3. Wonderful tag I love the vintage image and distressing!
    Thank you for joining us and for entering your fabulous project in the Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge!
    HuGs Kim 🙂

  4. Really like this combination of rougher background with this beautiful picture. Still learning – how did you add the text on top of the picture without a ‘text box’?

Leave a Reply

