Say It In…Orange and Purple!!

Welcome to my second guest designer post at Annabelle Stamps. This weeks challenge at Annabelle Stamps is to Say it in Orange and Purple….

My initial thoughts on this colour combination was that it reminds me of Halloween. So for me the challenge was to avoid my project looking Halloween’y!

I made a card and matching corner bookmarker. I used the All Things Grow set – if you can only get one Annabelle stamp set make it this one! I made a card in purple card stock and matted some orange card stock – that just happened to be the exact shade of the Annabelle twisted paper cord! My neutral is a panel of white watercolour paper. I stamped on the watercolour paper using what I believe is called the ‘walking technique’.

For this I stamped 4 different colour distress inks onto my craft mat. I used the grass stamp and pressed it into the ink randomly onto all the colours.  I then spritzed the inked stamp  lightly with water and stamp it onto the watercolour paper. It gives a lovely water coloured effect. I did the butterflies the same way. Of course the butterflies needed some bling. This came in the form of the Annabelle sprinkles in Pumpkin. Here is a close up so you can see the effect this particular method gives..

The image on the corner book marker was done the same way. I love these corner book markers, such a cute way to use up scraps and to show off super cute stamps!

Make sure you head over to the Annabelle Stamps blog and check out the amazing DT’s work, its all simply stunning!!

6 thoughts on “Say It In…Orange and Purple!!

  1. Fabulous project with the challenge colours Nicole! Love your watercolour effect and ‘All Things Grow’ is my fave ABS stamp set too!

  2. good golly Nicole, the technique looks absolutely stunning with the stamp set, awesome balance of the challenge colours!! 🙂

  3. Hi Nicole, just love this bookmark idea, the stamping looks great, the border punching looks so elegant. FAB work with the stamps and the colour scheme. Congrats on the Guest DT spot!

Leave a Reply

