Ephemera alert!

The challenge over at Simon Says this week is to use Ephemera. They kindly provided a rough definition of what ephemera is – “A Class of collectible items not originally intended to last for more than a short time, such as tickets, posters, pamphlets, postcards, or labels”. Funnily enough, I already knew what the word means, I just cant for the life of me pronounce it. It seems to be one of those words you come across that you struggle with for no real reason. Musician is another one – I have to be careful pronouncing that one, if I rush it I sounds like I have a lisp. Weird eh! Anyway I rummaged through my stash and came up with this old postcard..

1918 – way old right! I love the text, Dear Father, Mother and Nora, I am writing to you to let you know where I am….

She is in Dover! This is the front of the postcard, just to point out the obvious, just like the writer of the postcard 🙂 Anyway I decided to frame the postcard. Did some more rummaging and this happened….

Lots of genuine vintage tickets, clock faces, feathers and beads were used as you can see. I painted the frame green then patchily applied distress crackle paint. Do you like the creepy face on the bottom right? I made it myself using a new elfin face mold I recently got off eBay. After finishing the frame I asked the hubby’s opinion. He frowned and said ‘Its a bit cluttered’. Pffft!!!! Its getting entered into the challenge regardless, creepy elfin face and all!

4 thoughts on “Ephemera alert!

  1. What a wonderful use of ephemera! Great way to showcase the photo! Thanks for joining the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge!

  2. Gorgeous image!! I love the items you used to frame it too : )

    Thanks so much for entering the Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge!!!

    -Sarah

Leave a Reply

