Simon Says – Distressed/Sanded

This week over at Simon Says Stamp and Show the theme is your Distressed/Sanded projects. I just about got my entry ready on time for this one, its been a busy week. I started off with a cheap €1 A5 notebook. I peeled off the holographic blue foil it was covered with and painted it chocolate brown, then crackle glazed it and topped it with ivory paint. When this was all dry I took some 7gypsies paper and sanded and distressed it and part covered the note book. I used lots of stamps, tissue tape, distress inks, embossing and Tim Holtz bits and pieces on this project. The recipient is in her final year of a zoology degree so I snuck in some dragonflies, birds and ladybugs to make it more personal to her. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

The front cover, personalised for Faye.  Spot the cute little ladybug – she loves them! I love the book corners. I had to reclaim them from a card I had made previously as they are the only 2 I have.

You can just make out the sanding and distressing on the paper and the paint job in this shot.

Some lovely metal foliage pieces to jazz up the spine a bit.

Inside I edged the cover with tissue tape to hide the mess from peeling off the original foil covering! I added a pocket with some more 7gypsies paper and added a tag for some more interest. The field notes piece was in my stash (no idea from where!) but it suited perfectly as they do a lot of field work on her course.

I added a ribbon for marking her place in the book.

I kept the back cover quite simple as I wanted the distressed paint job to be visible. I just added a bit more sanded and distressed 7gypsies paper, some stamping and a tag. I like the quote on the tag, it quite suits her personality!

I covered the spine with dictionary tissue tape. I love the effect it gives!

If you made down it this far then thanks so much for looking and enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

2 thoughts on “Simon Says – Distressed/Sanded

  1. How cool is this!!! I am so into bird cages right now and I love what you’ve done with the cage and the bird and the patterned papers. There are so many neat elements to this!!

    Thanks so much for entering the Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge!!!

    -Sarah

Leave a Reply

