Seeing double….

I have combined the challenge over at Pocket full of Posies and Simon Says Stamp and Show as I am a bit short for time at the moment. The challenge at Pocket Full of Posies is ‘Winged Things’ – I have butterflies on my background and flowers on the tag. Over at Simon Says its ‘Show Your Layers’ – I got layers!

I have the purty new September kit from The Crafty Alley sitting on my desk. However I felt a bit too guilty about all the scraps sitting on my desk to go and open the new kit. So I made this double tag using scraps from the previous kits. I used my new Magnolia vintage tag die (I ❤ this die!) to make the small tag and layered it onto the bigger tag. I made the flowers using K&C dp and velum and layered them up and added some buttons for good measure.

The background was made using barn door distress ink. I tested out my new craft sheet and did the whole wrinkle free distress thing. Well I think I did anyway. I was going by a half remembered read of the technique!! Incidentally barn door ink when spritzed with water totally looks like blood, especially when it gets all over your hands and top. My hubby thought I was after having (another) run in with my craft knife!

PS: I realised this project also fits the challenge over at The Shabby Tea room – old meets new. The papers are all old and the magnolia die is brand spanking new, the tag on this project is literally the 1st use I gave it!

5 thoughts on “Seeing double….

  1. What a lovely layered tag design! Gorgeous colors and love the stamping. Thanks for sharing with us at TSTR.

  2. hehehehe…your story made me giggle as my hands look the same way the other day!!!

    Your tag is WONDERFUL!! great use of your scraps!
    thanks bunches for playing along with the Design Teamies and Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge!!

  3. This is so pretty Nicole, I love the colours and funny with the ink colour ha ha ha! I’ve been admiring this tag die too looks so good!
    The Design Team and I are so pleased that you joined us for the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge this week,
    Thank you
    HuGs Kim 🙂

  4. Those flowers are stunning and I really like the button centers!!

    Thanks so much for entering the Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge!!!

    -Sarah

Leave a Reply

