Mirror mirror on the wall….

A quick project to share today. This was a E3.99 mirror from Ikea that I altered for a good friend. (Hi Faye!) I covered it with the beautiful K&Co papers from the Crafty Alley August kit. I inked and distressed up the edges a bit. I painted up some die cuts I had gotten from a few swaps – the birdcage (really want this die!), the key, the butterfly and the letters. I painted the bird and the key with the distress crackle paint from the kit before bronzing them. I love the effect the crackle paint gives. The cream butterfly, flower, button on the top of the bird cage and leaves are also from the kit. I added some chain to make it look like the bird cage was hanging, well at least I hope it looks like its hanging! I inked up some old book paper using the bird as a mask. I then glimmer misted the paper before backing my cage onto it. The bird has escaped the cage, go birdie! I forgot to clean the mirror itself before taking a photo – sorry! I also never realised how hard it is to take a photo of a mirror, especially to avoid getting into the reflection πŸ™‚

I am entering this into the challenge over at the wonderful new Simon Says Stamp and Show blog. Its all about the styles of the likes of Tim Holtz, Wendy Vecchi,Β 7 Gypsies and Graphic 45 – among many other Vintage enthusiasts. The first challenge theme is “Things with Wings”. Iv got birds and butterflies so theres my wings!!

6 thoughts on “Mirror mirror on the wall….

  1. Don’t you just love those Ikea mirrors…what a great job of altering it…I’m sure Faye will just love it!!!

    Thanks Bunches for playin’ along with the Design Teamies and Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge!!!

  2. What a wonderful gift for your friend! I’m a sucker for coppery colours, so I love this! πŸ™‚ The Design Team are really pleased that you joined us for the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge this week- Thank you!

  3. I love the colours on this … great job … I have to admit to owning a few of those mirrors myself … mine still look like the day I bought them though :0) One day!!! Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show for our very first challenge … here’s hoping we see you again next week :0)

Leave a Reply

