Break Free!

I have a tutorial up today over at the Crafting Ireland blog. But I thought I would share it here also. It is another mixed media tag. The background of my tag was made using the techniques on my tag from last year here. In fact I will let you in on a secret…this tag base was created at the same time as that last tag…and has sat on my desk ever since waiting to be finished!

So what I want to show you is how easy it can be to finish off those projects that end up by the wayside.

What you will need:

  • Unfinished project (optional – you can start a new one also if you like!)
  • Adhesive
  • Ink
  • Embossing powder
  • Chipboard shapes – all mine are from Scrapfellow.com and I used the CogsButterflies and Stars.

Step 1

Create a base using my previous tutorial here or else use an existing one. I did add some sparkle to my tag by smearing on some glossy accents and then sprinkling some distress glitter over this.

pic 1pic 2

Step 2

Ink up the chipboard, I used a nice juicy ink so that I could sprinkle embossing powder on it. I used copper ink and copper embossing powder. I coated the inked up chipboard in the embossing powder and then tapped a lot of it off. This gave me a patchy embossed look where the ink underneath could shine though. It is a lovely effect.

pic 3pic 4pic 5

Step 3

I used some Tarnished brass distress ink mixed on a craft mat with some water to stain some cheesecloth.

pic 6Step 4

I made some mini banners and glued them to the two small butterflies I am using on my tag.pic 7pic 8Step 5

I inked up the cogs with the Tarnished brass stain and when dry aged them up a bit using black soot distress ink. I then glued these onto the tag.pic 9Step 6

Glue the butterflies down onto the tag and staple the cheese cloth over them. I wanted it to look like two were trapped in a net and the third was flying free from the net.

pic 10Step 7

I used some mini stickers to give my tag a title.pic 11And it was done! It was such a fast process to finish this tag I don’t know why I didn’t do it sooner!pic 12This picture is a better indication of the true colour of the tag…. You can also see the lovely texture on the butterflies from the embossing method I did.pic 13Another close up showing more of the bottom of the tag….pic 14

 

I hope you enjoyed seeing this process. We all get creative blocks at times, but never throw out those unfinished projects!

Categories: crafts | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Break Free!

  1. That is so imaginative! Love the tag and the idea with the cogs and the cheese cloth! Thanks for sharing this here!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

