Sun Rays

I am really enjoying creating in my journal lately, whenever I can get some free time. I am also enjoying getting to use up some of those papers we tend to hoard because they are too nice to use. On this page I used a fun wood grain and white zig zag pattern I had. I glued this paper down to make my background and gave it a thin wash of gesso. Once this was dry I used a cog and gear stencil to ink over the top of this. I then stenciled on some stars in random patches. I also added some stamping with a crackle stamp.

pic 4For the focal point of the page I used a Retro Cafe Art sunrays stencil. I coloured my texture paste with copper paint and applied through the stencil. I had to stencil twice to get the full sun.pic 5

I did another of my favourite things to embellish the page further – used scraps from a pile on my desk from other projects! Some crumpled book paper was inked up with some hints of copper paint on it also. A ticket sticker, a banner sticker and a drawer cut from another scrap of paper were all adhered down here.pic 2 I made some book paper ‘flags’ and used another sticker and some map paper from another scrap.pic 3I added journaling all around the edge of my page. It is a quote I like from Oliver Twist and it reads:

“The sun,–the bright sun, that brings back, not light alone, but new life, and hope, and freshness to man–burst upon the crowded city in clear and radiant glory. Through costly-coloured glass and paper-mended window, through cathedral dome and rotten crevice, it shed its equal ray.” 
pic 1

This was a very fun page to work on and quite fast too – once my texture paste dried!

Categories: crafts | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sun Rays

  1. Love this Nicole.
    C xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers

